Lord Mayor Selection Committee

Friday 14 February 2020

PRESENT:

Councillor Sam Davey, in the Chair. Councillors Deacon, Murphy, Penberthy (substitute for Councillor Evans OBE) and Ms Watkin (substitute for Councillor Downie).

Apologies for absence: Councillors Downie and Evans OBE.

Also in attendance: Andrew Loton (Head of Governance, Performance and Risk), Elizabeth Olver (Civic Support Co-ordinator) and Helen Prendergast (Democratic Advisor).

The meeting started at 3.00 pm and finished at 3.05 pm.

Note: At a future meeting, the committee will consider the accuracy of these draft minutes, so they may be subject to change. Please check the minutes of that meeting to confirm whether these minutes have been amended.

5. Note the Appointment of the Chair

The Committee noted the appointment of Councillor Sam Davey as the Chair for the municipal year 2019/20.

6. **Declarations of Interest**

There were no declarations of interest made by Councillors in accordance with the code of conduct.

7. Minutes

The Committee <u>agreed</u> that the minutes of the meeting held on 19 February 2019 are confirmed as a correct record.

8. Lord Mayoralty 2020/21

The Committee sought nominations for the Lord Mayoralty 2020/21. Having been nominated by Councillor Murphy and seconded by Councillor Deacon, it was <u>agreed</u> unanimously to extend a cordial invitation to Councillor Chris Mavin to accept the office of Lord Mayor for the following municipal year.

Councillors waited upon Councillor Chris Mavin who, on arrival, expressed his appreciation at the nomination which he was delighted to accept.

Agreed that it is unanimously recommended to City Council that it approves the appointment of Councillor Chris Mavin as Lord Mayor for the 2020/21 municipal year.